In contrast with rUdraM of krishna yajurveda , shukla yajurveda have rudrAshtadhyAyI .Literally rudrAshtadhyAyI means eight chapters dedicated to rUdra but  actually having mantras dedicated to ganpatI ,heart ( shivasamkalpa suktaM ) ,purUsha , shrI ,surya (mitra ) ,Indra , bruhaspatI, rUdra,rUdra svasA, ambikA, shAntI devtAs consisting of 10 chapters ( 2 additional chapters ) . There are 6 different versions of rudrAshtadhyAyI prevalent in north India.

1) agnipurAnokta version

2) rUdropAsanakalpadrUM version

3) devyAgnika paddhatI version

4) parashUrAma paddhatI version

5) shatrUdriya version ( rUdraM )

6) bruhad rudrAshtadhyAyI version

Following is an overview of common and largest version ( bruhad rudrAshtadhyAyI version ) .

* prathamOdhyAya (1st chapter )

Starts with very famous mantra ‘ganANAntvA o ‘ in it’s shukla yajurveda version. This chapter also consists of shiva samkalpaM .It is dedicated to mahAganpatI and mana ( heart ).It consists of total 10 mantras.

* dvitIyodhyAya ( 2nd chapter)

It houses purUsh suktaM, UttarnArAyana suktaM and very famous ‘shrishha te ‘ mantra ( dedicated to srI devI and bhu devI ).Dedicated to purUsha nArAyana with srI devI and bhu devI .It consists of 22 mantras.

* trutIyodhyAya ( 3rd chapter )

It houses apratiraThaM ( apratiratha suktaM ) and UttarapratiraThaM dedicated to war god Indra and his purOhita ( priest ) bruhaspatI.
In old paddhatI granThas UttarapratiraThaM is not included. ( 3 versions don’t have this UttarapratiraThaM mantras ) This have 17 mantras according to bruhad version  and 12 mantras ( excluding 5 mantras of  UttarapratiraThaM  ) according to old paddhatI granThas.

* chaturthodhyAya ( 4th chapter )

It is dedicated to sun god in mitra form. It consists of 17 mantras.

* panchamodhyAya ( 5th chapter )

This is dedicated to rUdra .It is also known as namakAdhyAya ( namakaM ) due to denser use of phrases ‘namaste’ and ‘namo’ ( apparently denser use of na sound ).It have 66 mantras
, kanva shAkhA have 64 mantras instead of 66 mantras.

* shashtodhyAya ( 6 th chapter )

It is dedicated to rUdra and his parivAra devtAs ( family deities ) .It consists of 8 mantras .Old paddhatIkAras don’t include it in rudrAshtadhyAyI. It is also known as ‘mahicchara adhyAya’ .

* saptamoadhyAya ( 7th chapter )

This is most controversial chapter of rudrAshtadhyAyI .Only bruhad version includes this mantras. Some of old paddhatIkAras don’t include it in rudrAshtadhyAyI .Some paddhatIkAras include only 3 mantras out of 7 , as rest of the mantras are employed in chitA homa .It consist of total 7 mantras .It is dedicated to  offsprings of rUdra i.e. marUta ganas and sharira devtAs .It is also known as jatAdhyAya.

* ashtamodhyAya ( 8th chapter )

It houses chamakaM .It is also known as chamakAdhyAya due to denser use of phrase ‘cha me ‘. It is dedicated directly to agni and apparently to vishvedevAs. It consist of total 29 mantras.

*shantyAdhyAya ( chapter of pacifying )

This portion is additionally and  integrally recited as part of rudrAshtadhyAyI from ancient time .It consists of 24 mantras dedicated to pacifying deities of pravargya rite. It falls under the shukriya section of shukla yajurveda and generally not recited in night.

* svastI prArThana mantradhyAya ( chapter of blessings )

It is additionally and  integrally recited as part of rudrAshtadhyAyI from ancient time .It consists of 13 mantras (one from shatpatha brAhmanaM )  dedicated to Ashi devtAs.

Pdf of rudrAshtadhyAyI

1) rudrAshtadhyAyI text

Animesh’s Blog


nepAlI version of siddhakunjikA stotra

While studying a nepAlI stotra collection book I came to know of following version of siddhakunjikA stotra .May be this version is prevalent among sAdhaks of nepAla , in end of text no source is mentioned but my guess is it belongs to some dAmara text .



Animesh’s Blog

UpAsanAmurtIs of goddesses dhUmAvatI

Following is a comprehensive list of several UpAsanAmurtIs  of  dhUmA-bhagvaty based on kAlamrityu tantra , dhUmravArAhI kalpa , saubhAgya dhUmAvatI kalp, Ugra dhUmAvatI kalp, kubjikopnishada , saubhAgya kAnda of atharvan veda ( also known as mahAtharvan samhitA )  and personal conversation with sAdhakas of kAkadhwajI.

1) kAka-dhUmAvatI
2) mohinI dhUmikA
3) UchchAtana dhUmikA
4) trailokya mohinI dhUmAvatI
5) Ugra dhUmAvatI
6) saubhAgya dhUmAvatI
7) dhUmravArAhI
8) dhUmrAstra rupiNI
9) rAvanopAsitA murtI
10) meghanAdopAsita murtI
11) AdInAthopAsita murtI
12) charpatbhanjana nAtha        Upasita murtI
13) dattAtreyopAsita murtI
     ( avdhUtopAsita murtI )
14) kAkachandesheshwarI
15) vidvaishana dhUmAvatI
16) jyeshThA dhUmikA
17) kAkarUdha dhUmAvatI
18) raTharUdha dhUmAvatI
19) dhUmrAkshI murtI
20) vAtsalya dhUmAvatI
21) dandahastA dhUmAvatI
22) shurpahastA dhUmAvatI
23) shivabhakshiNI mahAUgra dhUmAvatI
24) shAbar dhUmAvatI
25) vairAgya dhUmAvatI
26) Atharvan dhUmAvatI
27) pashchimAmnAya     kubjikAangabhuta dhUmAvatI
28) UrdhvAmanAya dhUmAvatI


kAlamrityu tantra  in conversation between shiva and skanda kumAra  describes  UpAsana of  kAka-dhUmAvatI, mohinI dhUmikA ,UchchAtana dhUmikA, trailokya mohinI dhUmAvatI and vidvaishana dhUmAvatI .


saubhAgya dhUmAvatI kalp and Ugra dhUmAvatI kalp describes UpAsana of Ugra dhUmAvatI and saubhAgya dhUmAvatI. dhUmravArAhI
and dhUmrAstra rupiNI are described in dhumravArAhi kalpa and partially in kAlamrityu tantra .A combination of vArAhi and dhUmAvatI is described.


Yantras , gurUkrama , mantras, and several prayogas  of  Atharvan dhUmAvatI are described in mahAtharvan samhitA but unfortunately text is lost only mantroddhAra  and yantroddhAra of atharvan dhUmAvatI are preserved in my tradition. kAkarUdha dhUmAvatI is described as sitting on crow and raTharUdha dhUmAvatI is described as sitting on old and damaged chariot  mulamantra is same in both cases but dhyAnas differ.




dandahastA dhUmAvatI is employed in case of deha kilana ,shatrU tAdana and shurpahastA dhumAvatI is employed in dhananAsha  and dAridryakarna prayogas.
shivabhakshiNI mahAUgra dhUmAvatI is employed in pretabAdha , bhutabAdha , pishAchabAdha , dakinI dosha , sarpa dosha , shAkinI dosha , graha kilan , shatrU nAsha , shatrU mArana , para krita praypga nAsha and tantra bhakshana.


dhUmrAkshI murtI is described in  devImahtmya , she is adhyAyadevatA of durgAsaptashatI. rAvanopAsitA murtI
,meghanAdopAsita murtI , AdInAthopAsita murtI , charpatbhanjana nAtha        Upasita murtI and  avdhUtopAsita murtI are due to mantrabheda and UpAsaka bheda .

सुर्पहस्ता विजयते

In vAtsalya dhUmAvatI rupA she is to be worship by pautrabhAva ( as a grandson of devI ) , this most saumya murtI of ambA. shAbar dhUmAvatI is worshipped by siddhAs and siddhamArgis ( nAtha yogis ) , generally in their dhunI  in form of smoke . jyeshThA dhUmikA and kAkachandesheshwarI forms are generally worshipped by kApalikas, aghoris and kaulas. image

pashchimAmnAya    kubjikAangabhuta dhUmAvatI
and UrdhvAmanAya dhUmAvatI are UpAsanamutIs due to AmnAya bheda , in pashchimAnAya she is employed for shatrU samhAra and svarakshA but in contrast UrdhvAmanya  employs her in kundalinI jAgrana , karmabhakshana and tivravairAgya. image

जयतु धूमाभगवती

Animesh’s Blog